Apple Mac (OS X) Training Reflection

10th August 2016 I received three days training on OS X Support Essentials 10.11 (El Capitan) and passed the exam to qualify as an Apple Certified Support Professional.

I have worked through some of the class exercises again on my Mac computer and included some step-by-step instructions here: Apple Mac (OS X) Training.

Some things that I found particularly useful are:

  • how to reset a user account password using a ‘Master Password’ – great for those times you create an account for a learner only to forget the password a few days later!
  • How to protect the data on your Mac – learn how to switch on FileVault and add a ‘Firmware Password’ to set the highest level of Mac protection.
  • Quick Look to preview files in various applications.
  • WebDav for sharing files – I use WebDav for sharing large files between my MacBook and iPad.
  • More on my Tech Practice page here: Apple Mac (OS X) Training.

To learn more about OS X you can:

Leave a comment