Module 5: Get Social

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 11.08.56

The Social Media platform I chose for my Module 5 post is Twitter.  I have had a Twitter account since 2012 and have found it beneficial in following things that are of interest to me.

Here is a link to my Twitter account https://twitter.com/hutchianna

It was through a Twitter post placed by Vicki Davis (@coolcatteacher) that I found out about Jennifer Gonzalez’s Tech JumpStart course.  (See the original tweet from Vicki Davis at the top of the page.)

I generally post a tweet when I find something useful regarding technology and use it as a way of keeping a record of what I learn.   I feel that I have been dipping my toes with Twitter for the past few years, but not really using it to its full potential.  I have yet to complete my Twitter bio and I need to replace the banner picture to something that relates to tech and teaching – as shown below.

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 22.58.32.png

Below I have included some screenshots to show my participation on Twitter. The first, is an example of a basic tweet.

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 18.40.22.png

I have been following Nicole Hennig for a while and find her Mobile Apps Newsletters really informative.  She is quite an inspiration and has published books and created courses on www.Udemy.com.  

  • Organize your Life with Mobile Apps
  • Apps for Librarians and Educators
  • The Book as iPad App

The screenshot shows my retweet of Nicole Hennig’s post and my comment.  I included her twitter username (@nic211) in the tweet which is referred to as a ‘mention’ so that she would receive a notification.    It was really nice to connect with Nicole and receive a reply back!

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 17.54.58

On review of how to use Twitter I came across the following web page titled ‘How to Retweet The Right Way (With a Comment) on Twitter‘ and realized that I should have placed RT in front of her username @nic211 with a colon after it as shown in the example below:

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 18.53.57Image source: http://blog.hubspot.com/blog/tabid/6307/bid/27675/How-to-Retweet-the-Right-Way-in-4-Easy-Steps.aspx#sm.0001xv7gww15aef7que8626jrv53x

Next stop Jennifer Gonzalez’s Twitter course.

Useful resources

Tweet the right way – http://blog.hubspot.com/blog/tabid/6307/bid/27675/How-to-Retweet-the-Right-Way-in-4-Easy-Steps.aspx#sm.0001xv7gww15aef7que8626jrv53x

Nicole Hennig’s mobile apps news – http://nicolehennig.com/mobile-apps-news/

Twitter course by Jenniffer Gonzalez, The Cult of Pedagogy –  http://www.blendeducation.org/courses/twitter

 

 

Leave a comment