Module 6: Take Your Pick

Flashcards to Learn the Creative Commons Symbols

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 19.41.13

For Module 6, I chose to make Flashcards with Quizlet.  I first came across Quizlet on my Digital Literacy Practitioner’s course, but hadn’t tried the flashcard feature and thought this would be a good time to give it a go.  I decided to create flashcards on the Creative Commons Licenses as this would be something I could use for my students.

In order to add images it is necessary to upgrade from the free account to a pro account. Quizlet is something that I will use for teaching so I so decided to pay for a year’s subscription.

To create the flashcards I took screenshots of each License from the Creative Commons website (I was unable to add the supplied embed code into Quizlet – if you know of a way please post in the comments below).

Here is a screenshot of my first attempt but as you can see the image appears quite small on the card:

Screen Shot 2016-07-22 at 22.39.13

My second attempt is much better. I cropped the image in Microsoft Word and saved it as a picture.  Here is the screenshot:

Screen Shot 2016-07-22 at 22.53.18.png

Here is my completed set of Creative Commons Licenses Flashcards created in Quizlet.  To load the flashcards click the link below or scan the QR Code with a QR code reader app (I use the Redlaser app on my iPhone and iPad):

             Creative Commons License Flashcards

 CC License Flashcard QR Code

Creative_Commons_License_Flashcards

Final Thoughts on Quizlet

Pros

  • I will find Quizlet useful to teach computer terminology, digital literacy terms
    and file formats.
  • Quizlet will be useful as a tool for my own learning goals.
  • Adding images to the cards makes them more effective for teaching.  There are free images available within Quizlet so going for the pro version may not be necessary unless you want to use your own.
  • The audio option will be beneficial so that students learn the correct pronunciation of computer terminology.
  • Flashcards can be shared on multimple platforms – via a link or QR code.
  • There are Quizlets created by other users or teachers that have been made public and freely available for use.  Here is a couple of public Quizlets l found in my subject area:

Computer Hardware https://quizlet.com/_167txy
Image Size and Resolution https://quizlet.com/_1x27da

Cons

  • I attempted to embed the Quizlet by copying the embed code and pasting it into the text editor window but had no success.  There seemed to be a few people that have had issues with embedding but no solutions were available on the WordPress website.  The embed code removes the ‘iframe’ part of the code once the page has been previewed and the embedded image disappears leaving only the hyperlink.
  • I found the formatting options very basic.  I couldn’t underline words, use bold or change the background colour of the cards.

Useful Resources

As suggested in The Teacher’s Guide to Tech 2016 (page 173) I used http://www.qrcode-generator.com to create the QR Code.

Creative Commons link to help you choose the correct license for your project https://creativecommons.org/share-your-work 

Webpage by Future Imperfect on ’11 Ways Quizlet.com Can Supercharge Your Teaching’ http://billcprice.com/futureimperfect/2013/02/11-ways-to-supercharge-your-teaching-with-quizlet-com

Quizlet help centre https://quizlet.com/help

Teacher Referral Program – get 6 months free when someone uses your referral code to upgrade.  Instructions on how to find your code here https://quizlet.com/help/2444124/faq-the-quizlet-teacher-referral-program

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment